Comfort Food at its Best!

 

COMFORT FOOD AT ITS BEST! Chicken and Egg noodles.. mmm.. in the crock pot..

Original Pin Link: Going Jane on BlogSpot

4/5 Stars

My crock pot and I are really forming quite a bond.  A really healthy relationship.  It makes me feel like a real, domesticated, woman. A wonderful housewife and mom. My favorite kitchen tool at the moment.

I like recipes that allow me to use frozen chicken breast. I have been buying it in bulk, and I usually don’t remember to thaw it. The only downfall of this recipe is like with most crock pot recipes, it requires you to think about dinner ahead of time. Booooo. I usually think about dinner at dinner time, then say DOH when I realize we don’t have enough ingredients to make anything, and we end up with something edible, but not delicious.

Anyway, back to the recipe.  I did have to make an effort to buy chicken broth, because I have never had it in my house before. And yes, I am one of those annoying people you see in the grocery store, on her phone, looking at her Pinterest food board to see what recipe I might wanna cook for the week and what I might need to buy for it. I apologize. But hey, at least I am now giving you some entertainment value here, right?

OK, Once again, please view the original pin up top to give credit where credit is due, but here is the recipe.

“Combine 3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, 2-10.75 cans of cream of chicken soup, 1/2 cup of butter (sliced) and 42 oz. of chicken broth in your crock pot. Cover & cook on low for 8 hours. An hour before serving, remove the chicken, shred it and return it to the slow cooker.
The recipe calls for a 24 oz. package of frozen egg noodles, but I couldn’t find frozen ones, so I just used bagged ones. Stir in the noodles, cover and cook another hour. If you are not using frozen noodles, I recommend keeping an eye on the noodles so they don’t get over cooked & mushy. Once they are cooked to your desired consistency, you are ready to serve! The recipe calls for serving in bowls, but my kids like more noodles and less broth, so I just added a whole big bag of noodles, which made it thicker than the recipe actually called for, so we served them on plates with some veggies. You do your own thing and it will all be good.”

Leave a comment